Study Abroad



University of Cape Town

Founded in 1829, the University of Cape Town has a proud tradition of academic excellence and effecting social change and development through its pioneering scholarship, faculty and students. The University prides itself on its diverse student population, which stands at approximately 26,000 students and reflects the vibrant, multicultural atmosphere for which the city of Cape Town is well-known. The University is also renowned for its striking beauty, with its campus located at the foot of Table Mountain’s Devil’s Peak and panoramic views of much of Cape Town.

Rhodes University, South Africa

Rhodes University
Rhodes University celebrated its centenary in 2004 and is one of the oldest South African universities. With just over 6,000 students, it is also the smallest university in South Africa. The University is set in a beautiful and safe campus and offers comfortable accommodation and modern facilities. Rhodes University has six faculties - Commerce, Education, Humanities, Law, Pharmacy, and Science. Rhodes has developed an international reputation for many of its undergraduate courses such as Journalism, Psychology, Drama and Economics, with graduates of those disciplines excelling in their fields. Recent honorary doctorates include Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Nelson Mandela and economics Nobel laureate, Amartya Sen.

Monash University, South Africa Campus

Monash South Africa
Leeds students are now able to choose to study at Monash University’s South Africa Campus, in Ruimsig near Johannesburg, if selected for an exchange to Monash University.  With their main campus based in Melbourne, Australia, Monash University is a member of Australia’s prestigious ‘Group of Eight’ universities.  They set up Monash South Africa in 2001.  Students attending this campus will benefit from a wide range of opportunities to get involved in local community volunteering projects.

This is a new opportunity for 2014/15.